Who are Future Energy Skills?

Future Energy Skills (previously EPIC Industry Training Board) is a not-for-profit industry led organisation serving and working in partnership with Victoria’s electro-technology, electricity generation and supply, gas supply and new energy technology sectors.

What do we do?

Future Energy Skills, through its industry-led Board acts as a conduit for industry between Government, Government agencies and other key training stakeholders. Future Energy Skills identifies the needs of industry; informs and influences policy developers and funding bodies and ensures that industry is well informed of the benefits of participation in the Vocational Education and Training (VET) system.

Future Energy Skills is funded by the Department of Education and Training and works under the direction of the Victorian Skills Commissioner to host an Industry Advisory Group (IAG) servicing the electro-technology, electricity generation and supply, gas supply and new energy technology sectors. The IAG provides an industry voice to the Skills Commissioner that helps to:

  • ensure barriers to providing training to meet industry demand can be identified and overcome
  • enable Government to address current and future skills shortages and workforce training needs, including the training needs of emerging industries
  • promote training pathways that lead to qualifications, jobs and skill development in the workforce
  • ensure the unique requirements of regional Victoria for quality training and skills are understood and supported.

Why do we do it?

Through the provision of quality advice and services our purpose is to provide industry with a strong and effective voice to government to help inform the skills and training it needs for a sustainable future.

Meet our Board Members

Troy Gray
State Secretary
Electrical Trades Union

Danny Filazzola
State President
Electrical Trades Union

James Keegan
Executive Director
National Electrical Contractors Association

Philip Green
Chief Executive Officer
NECA Education & Careers

Meet our Staff

Maurice Graham: Executive Officer
Samantha Spice: Operations and Finance Officer
Carmel Veenstra: Industry Consultant
Faruk Hadziavdic: Profiling & IT Administrator
Michael Parry: Profiling and IT Support Officer
Niki Prasad: LEA Administration
Roberta Prasad: LEA Administration
Daniel Thompson: LEA Assessor
John Coburn: LEA Assessor
Terry Clement: LEA Assessor
Chris Bursell: LEA Assessor